Holiday Hours

RESEARCH Government

Government  

Tax Counseling for the Elderly

The Southwest Missouri Office on Aging's TCE (Tax Counseling for the Elderly) program provides free income tax preparation assistance. IRS-trained volunteers prepare federal and state tax returns and Missouri Property Tax Credit forms.

Older adults will be given priority, but other ages can receive the service after older adults have been served.

Documents to bring:

  • Social Security numbers for individual and spouse and all dependents
  • Documentation of all income and child and dependent care expenses
  • Photo identification
  • W-2s
  • Last year's tax return
  • Bank account and routing numbers, if using direct deposit
  • Paperwork from close of home or purchase of new car if claiming first-time homebuyers or new car sales tax credit
  • Paid real estate tax receipt for Missouri Property Tax Credit
  • Letter of proof from Department of Veterans Affairs to exclude VA income for 100% disabled veterans

Call (417) 862-0762 for information about TCE sites in the other counties served by the Southwest Missouri Office on Aging.

Ash Grove Sunshine Center, 310 N. Perryman, Ash Grove, by appointment only, (417) 751-3826
Tuesday, Feb. 4, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 11, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 18, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 25, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 4, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 11, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 18, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 25, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 1, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 8, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 15, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.

 

Great Southern Bank (the building behind the bank), 507 E. Kearney St., Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 823-8084 (will be answered after Feb. 3)
Monday - Friday, Feb. 3 - Apr. 14, 8:30 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

Mercy Seniors (Smith Glynn Callaway -- 4th floor), 3231 S. National, Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 841-0333
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Feb. 3 - Apr. 14, 8:30 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

Meyer Orthopedic Center -- Senior Advantage, 3535 S. National, Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 862-0762
Tuesday, Feb. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 6, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 13, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 18, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 20, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 25, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 27, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Mar. 6, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Mar. 13, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 18, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Mar. 20, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 25, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Mar. 27, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 1, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Apr. 3, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 8, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Thursday, Apr. 10, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 15, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.  

 

Northview Senior Center, Doling Park, 301 E. Talmage, Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 837-5808
Tuesday, Feb. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 7, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 14, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday Feb. 18, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 21, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 25, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 28, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Mar. 7, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Mar. 14, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 18, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Mar. 21, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 25, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Mar. 28, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 1, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Apr. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 8, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Apr. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 15, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.  

 

Republic Senior Friendship Center, 210 E. Hines, Republic, by appointment only, (417) 732-7672
Saturdays (Feb. 1 - Apr. 12): call for appointment times
Wednesday, Feb. 5, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 12, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 19, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 26, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Mar. 5, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Mar. 12, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Mar. 19, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Mar. 26, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Apr. 2, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Apr. 9, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

South Side Senior Center, 2215 S. Fremont, Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 890-1313
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Feb. 4 - Apr. 15, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

Strafford Senior Center, 201 W. Bumgarner, Strafford, no appointment needed, (417) 736-9898
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Feb. 3 - Apr. 14, 9 a.m.--2 p.m.

 


Find this article at

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Free wi-fi

Friends of the library

The Library Foundation

Bookmark and Share

Sign up for the newsletter

© Springfield-Greene County Library District