All Library branches will be closed on Sunday, Apr. 5, in observance of Easter.

RESEARCH Government

Government  

Tax Counseling for the Elderly

The Southwest Missouri Office on Aging's TCE (Tax Counseling for the Elderly) program provides free income tax preparation assistance. IRS-certified volunteers prepare federal and state tax returns and Missouri Property Tax Credit forms.

Older adults will be given priority, but other ages can receive the service after older adults have been served.

Documents to bring:

  • Social Security numbers (or Form 1099-SSA) for individual, spouse and dependents
  • Birth dates for taxpayer, spouse, and dependents
  • Documentation of all income, usually a Form W-2 or 1099, and child and dependent care expenses
  • Photo identification for taxpayer and spouse
  • Last year's federal and state tax returns
  • Bank account and routing numbers, if using direct deposit
  • Paid real estate tax receipt for Missouri Property Tax Credit
  • To file a joint tax return electronically, both spouses must be present to sign the required forms

Call (417) 862-0762 for information about TCE sites in the other counties served by the Southwest Missouri Office on Aging.

Ash Grove Sunshine Center, 310 N. Perryman, Ash Grove, by appointment only, (417) 751-3826
Tuesday, Feb. 3, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 10, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 17, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 24, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 3, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 10, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 17, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 24, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 31, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 7, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 14, 9 a.m.--12 p.m.

 

Great Southern Bank (the building behind the bank), 507 E. Kearney St., Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 823-8084
Monday - Friday, Feb. 2 - Apr. 13, 8 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

The Library Center, 4653 S. Campbell Ave., Springfield, walk-ins only
Saturday, Apr. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

Mercy Seniors (Smith Glynn Callaway -- 4th floor), 3231 S. National, Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 841-0333
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Feb. 2 - Apr. 15, 8:30 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

Meyer Orthopedic and Rehabilitation Hospital, 3535 S. National, Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 862-0762
Tuesday, Feb. 3, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 10, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 17, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 18, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 24, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 25, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 3, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Mar. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 10, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Mar. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 17, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Mar. 28, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 24, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Mar. 25, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 31, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Apr. 1, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 7, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Wednesday, Apr. 18, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 14, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.  

 

Northview Center, Doling Park, 301 E. Talmage, Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 837-5808
Tuesday, Feb. 3, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 6, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 10, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 13, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday Feb. 17, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 20, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 24, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 27, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 3, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Mar. 6, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 10, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Mar. 13, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 17, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Mar. 20, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 24, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Mar. 27, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 31, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Apr. 3, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 7, 9 a.m.--1 p.m. Friday, Apr. 10, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 14, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.  

 

Republic Senior Friendship Center, 210 E. Hines, Republic, by appointment only, (417) 732-7672
Saturdays (Feb. 7 - Apr. 11): call for appointment times
Wednesday, Feb. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 18, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 25, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Mar. 4, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Mar. 11, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Mar. 18, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Mar. 25, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Apr. 1, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Apr. 8, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.
Wednesday, Apr. 15, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

Rogersville Area Senior Center, 197 Marshall St., Rogersville, by appointment only, (417) 753-7800
Wednesdays, Feb. 4 - Apr. 15, 9:30 a.m.--2:30 p.m.

 

South Side Senior Center, 2215 S. Fremont, Springfield, by appointment only, (417) 890-1313
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Feb. 3 - Apr. 15, 9 a.m.--1 p.m.

 

Strafford Senior Center, 201 W. Bumgarner, Strafford, no appointment needed, (417) 736-9898
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Feb. 2 - Apr. 15, 9 a.m.--2 p.m.

Find this article at

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Free wi-fi

Friends of the library

The Library Foundation

Bookmark and Share

Sign up for the newsletter

© Springfield-Greene County Library District