RESEARCH Government

Government  

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance

Missouri State University and Drury University students working with the ATLS (Across The Life Span) coalition will provide Volunteer Income Tax Assistance. This program provides free tax preparation assistance for federal tax returns and Earned Income Credit (EIC), Missouri Property Tax Credit, and other tax forms. They will provide assistance with Missouri and other states' tax returns if the federal return is being prepared.

Previous years' tax returns cannot be prepared.

Assistance is for those of low-to-moderate income, generally below $52,000, and for people with disabilities and non-English speakers.

All returns will be filed electronically unless the Internal Revenue Service requires a manual return. All taxpayers must be available to sign the appropriate forms in the case of joint returns.

Documents to bring:

  • Photo ID
  • W-2s and 1099 forms and statements issued by brokerage firms
  • Social Security numbers for the individual, spouse, and all dependents
  • Copy of last year's tax return and real estate tax receipt
  • Bank account and routing numbers (if using direct deposit)

Call (417) 720-2000 to make an appointment or request a translator.

Springfield-Greene County Library

Library staff cannot give advice or help prepare taxes.  

Library Center, 4653 S. Campbell Ave., walk-in or appointment
Saturday, Apr. 12, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.

 Area Universities

Missouri State University Glass Hall, 4th Floor, John Q. Hammons Pkwy., one block north of Grand

Fridays walk-in or appointment, use metered parking, visitor parking lots, or MSU parking permit

Saturdays walk-in or appointment, free parking available 
  Saturday, Feb. 8, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 14, 10 a.m.--2 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 15, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 21, 10 a.m.--2 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 22, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 28, 10 a.m.--2 p.m. Saturday, Mar. 1, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.
Friday, Mar. 7, 10 a.m.--2 p.m. Saturday, Mar. 22, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.
Friday, Mar. 28, 10 a.m.--2 p.m. Saturday, Mar. 29, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.
Friday, Apr. 4, 10 a.m.--2 p.m. Saturday, Apr. 5, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.
Friday, Apr. 11, 10 a.m.--2 p.m.  

 

Drury University 900 N. Benton, Breech School of Business Administration at the corner of Central Street and Drury Lane, walk-in or appointment
  Saturday, Feb. 8, 10 a.m.--4 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 10, 4 p.m.--8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 15, 10 a.m.--4 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 17, 4 p.m.--8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 22, 10 a.m.--4 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 24, 4 p.m.--8 p.m.  
Monday, Mar. 3, 4 p.m.--8 p.m.  

Other Sites

Holy Trinity Parish Hall, 2818 E. Bennett St., Springfield, by appointment only
Thursday, Feb. 13, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 20, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 27, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Mar. 6, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Mar. 13, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Mar. 20, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Mar. 27, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Apr. 3, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Apr. 10, 4 p.m.--7:30 p.m.

 

Legal Services of Southern Missouri, 809 N. Campbell, Springfield, by appointment only
Tuesday, Feb. 11, 4 p.m.--7 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 18, 4 p.m.--7 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 25, 4 p.m.--7 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 4, 4 p.m.--7 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 18, 4 p.m.--7 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 25, 4 p.m.--7 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 1, 4 p.m.--7 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 8, 4 p.m.--7 p.m.

 


Find this article at

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Free wi-fi

Friends of the library

The Library Foundation

Bookmark and Share

Sign up for the newsletter

© Springfield-Greene County Library District