The Library Springfield-Greene County Library District Springfield, Missouri

America the Beautiful Quarters™ Program

The U.S. Mint is releasing a new series of quarter designs featuring the country's national parks and forests. The new program will issue a new quarter for each state and territory and the District of Columbia. Five new designs will be issued each year with the program set to end in 2021 with a quarter honoring the Tuskeegee Airmen National Historic Society in Alabama. There will be 56 new quarters released through this program.

 The sites, which were nominated by each state, are being placed on the coins in the order that Congress put them under the care of the federal government. The first National Park quarter was released last month and featured Hot Springs. The other designs scheduled to be released in 2010 include Yellowstone National Park, Yosemite National Park, Grand Canyon National Park, and Mt. Hood National Forest.

Are you a numismatist? The Library carries several resources to assist you in pricing and cataloging your prized coin collection.

Find this article at