Search Options

Face masks are required for everyone age 3 and older in all Library branches. For exceptions, read more.

KIDS

BOOKLISTS

Ages 9-12

If You Like "Percy Jackson and the Olympians"

Find these books and more online at https://catalog.coolcat.org

Aru Shah and the End of Time by  Roshani Chokshi
Twelve-year-old Aru stretches the truth to fit in at her private school, but when she is dared to prove an ancient lamp is cursed, she inadvertently frees an ancient demon.
Clotho the Fate by Joan Holub
"During a secret trip to the Immortal Marketplace, Clotho, one of the three Fates, risks revealing her identity and if that were not enough, she must face up to an old mistake she made several years ago that could mess up a mortal's whole life."
Freya and the Magic Jewel by Joan Holub
Unlike her twin brother Frey, twelve-year-old girlgoddess Freya is not excited about their invitation to Asgard Academy, especially after she loses her magical jewel, leaving her powerless and worried about making friends -- Provided by Publisher.
Series -
Thunder Girls
Nightbooks by  J. A White
Alex's original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he'll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He's loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don't have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he's desperate for a different ending--and a way out of this twisted place. This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer's block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.
Race to the Sun by  Rebecca Roanhorse
Guided by her Navajo ancestors, seventh-grader Nizhoni Begay discovers she is descended from a holy woman and destined to become a monsterslayer, starting with the evil businessman who kidnapped her father. Includes glossary of Navajo terms. Includes an introduction by Rick Riordan, a glossary of Navajo words, and an author's note on ethnic heritage and representation.
Sal & Gabi Break the Universe by  Carlos Alberto Pablo Hernandez
In order to heal after his mother's death, Sal learned how to meditate. But no one expected him to be able to take it further and 'relax' things into existence. Turns out he can reach into time and space to retrieve things from other universes.
The Cassandra Curse by  Chantel Acevedo
"When a young Cuban American girl discovers that she's one of the nine muses of Greek mythology, she must use her newfound powers to help a brilliant classmate who is destined to save humanity"--|cProvided by publisher. Grades 4-6. Balzer + Bray. Ages 8-12.|
Series -
Muse Squad
The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis
Teens Jack, Marco, Aly, and Cass begin a quest to find seven pieces of Atlantis' power that were hidden long ago and that will, if returned to Atlantis, save them from certain death due to the genetic abnormality that also gives them superior abilities.
The End of Olympus by Kate O'Hearn
"Emily is contending with great changes, including diminished powers, but goes to London to rescue Agent B and others from the CRU, where she makes horrible discoveries about the agency's history."
The Maze of the Menacing Minotaur by Crispin Boyer
"Zeus the hamster and his cohorts escape their cages at Mount Olympus Pet Center in Athens, Georgia, to solve the mystery of the labyrinth--the center's duct system." Grades 4-6. Ages 8-12.
Series -
Zeus the Mighty
The Missing by Kate O'Hearn
"Astraea, Zephyr, and their friends travel to a dangerous jungle world in this second book of the Titans series"--|cProvided by publisher. Ages 8-12. Aladdin.
Series -
Titans
The Oddyssey by  David Slavin
"Sometimes it feels like Oddonis can't do anything right. Especially compared to his literally perfect twin brother, Adonis. But this time, Oddonis has really messed up by accidentally turning his father, the all-powerful king of the gods, Zeus, into a giant baby. Now it's up to Oddonis to assemble a team of his odd friends--Mathena, Gaseous, and Puneous--and journey to the underworld to get the curse reversed. Along the way, Oddonis will have to overcome a series of dangerous obstacles, his obnoxious brother, his own self-doubt, and the horrible scents of his best friend Gaseous. Can Gods as unlikely, unusual, and unheroic as Oddonis and his friends really save the day?" --|cAmazon.com
Series -
Odd gods
The Star Thief by  Lindsey Becker
Young parlor maid Honorine and her friend Francis find themselves in the middle of an epic feud between a crew of scientific sailors and the magical constellations come to life
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by  Kwame Mbalia
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he failed to save his best friend when they were in a bus accident together. All he has left of Eddie is the journal his friend wrote stories in. Tristan is dreading the month he's going to spend on his grandparents' farm. But on his first night there, a sticky creature shows up and steals Eddie's notebook. Tristan chases after it, and a tug-of-war ensues between them underneath a Bottle Tree. In a last attempt to get it away from the creature, Tristan punches the tree, accidentally ripping open a chasm into the MidPass, a volatile place with a burning sea, haunted bone ships, and iron monsters. Tristan finds himself in the middle of a battle that has left black American folk heroes John Henry and Brer Rabbit exhausted. In order to get back home, Tristan and these new allies will need to entice the god Anansi, the Weaver, to come out of hiding. Can Tristan save this world before he loses more of the things he loves?
Updated 09/22/2020