Search Options

KIDS

BOOKLISTS

Ages 9-12

If You Like Percy Jackson

Find these books and more online at http://catalog.coolcat.org

Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas by Jonathan Stokes
After twelve-year-old Addison Cooke's uncle unearths ancient Incan secrets in Peru, he is kidnapped by a shadowy organization intent on stealing the treasure unless Addison and his friends can decipher the clues first.
Series -
Addison Cook
Aru Shah and the End of Time by  Roshani Chokshi
Twelve-year-old Aru stretches the truth to fit in at her private school, but when she is dared to prove an ancient lamp is cursed, she inadvertently frees an ancient demon.
Book of the Dead by Michael Northrop
When Alex Sennefer's mother uses the Lost Spells from the Egyptian Book of the Dead to bring her son from the brink of dying, she also brings back five Death Walkers, leaving Alex and his best friend to find his mother and save the world.
Series -
Tombquest; 1
Freya and the Magic Jewel by Joan Holub
Unlike her twin brother Frey, twelve-year-old girlgoddess Freya is not excited about their invitation to Asgard Academy, especially after she loses her magical jewel, leaving her powerless and worried about making friends -- Provided by Publisher.
Series -
Thunder Girls
Loki's Wolves by Kelley Armstrong
Matt Thorsen is a direct descendant of the order-keeping god Thor, and his classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke are descendants of the trickster god Loki. When Ragnarok--the apocalypse--threatens, the human descendants of the gods must fight monsters to stop the end of the world.
Nightbooks by  J. A White
Alex's original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he'll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He's loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don't have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he's desperate for a different ending--and a way out of this twisted place. This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer's block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.
Over Sea Under Stone by Susan Cooper
Three children on a holiday in Cornwall find an ancient manuscript which sends them on a dangerous quest for a grail that would reveal the true story of King Arthur.
The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis
Teens Jack, Marco, Aly, and Cass begin a quest to find seven pieces of Atlantis' power that were hidden long ago and that will, if returned to Atlantis, save them from certain death due to the genetic abnormality that also gives them superior abilities.
The Fog Diver by Joel N. Ross
In this futuristic high-stakes adventure, humanity clings to cities on the highest mountain peaks above the deadly Fog, and airships transport the pirates of the skies. Daring 13-year-old tetherboy Chess and his salvage crew must face the dark plans of Lord Kodoc and work to save their beloved Mrs. E.
The Star Thief by  Lindsey Becker
Young parlor maid Honorine and her friend Francis find themselves in the middle of an epic feud between a crew of scientific sailors and the magical constellations come to life
The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan
Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother's mysterious death, he's lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers. One day, he is tracked down by a man he's never met -- a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
Treasury of Greek Mythology: Classic Stories of Gods, Goddesses, Heroes & Monsters by Donna Jo Napoli
Gaia, mother Earth -- Uranus, father heaven -- Cronus, Titan king -- Zeus, king of the gods -- Hestia, goddess of the hearth -- Poseidon, god of the seas -- Athena, goddess of wisdom -- Hades, god of the underworld -- Demeter, goddess of the harvest -- Apollo, god of music -- Artemis, goddess of the hunt and more.
Updated 12/04/2019