account contact home location search blogger facebook tumblr twitter angle-right angle-left
Search Options

All Library branches will be closed and the Mobile Library will not make its regularly scheduled stops on Monday, May 29, for Memorial Day.

The Strafford branch library does not have phone service on Wednesday, May 24, due to maintentance. Please call (417) 882-0714 for assistance.

The Library's Early Literacy Program

Racing to Read Programs

By Branch | By Age

Racing to Read programs for babies, toddlers and preschoolers are full of stories, songs and activities. They are not only fun for little ones, but they also give families great ideas for building early literacy at home. View other children's programs.

Storytimes

  • Friday, June 2, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Friday, June 9, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Friday, June 16, 2017, 9:30 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-age 6

  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 10:15 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 7, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 7, 2017, 10:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 10:15 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 14, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 14, 2017, 10:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 10:15 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017, 10:15 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-36 months

  • Wednesday, June 7, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 14, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017, 11:15 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-age 6

  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 11:15 a.m.

More Storytimes for ages 3-6

  • Monday, June 5, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Monday, June 12, 2017, 9:30 a.m.
  • Monday, June 19, 2017, 9:30 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-12 months

  • Tuesday, May 30, 2017, 9:15 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-18 months

  • Friday, May 26, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, May 30, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Friday, June 2, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Monday, June 5, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Friday, June 9, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Monday, June 12, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Friday, June 16, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Monday, June 19, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 10 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-36 months

  • Friday, May 26, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, May 30, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, May 30, 2017, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, June 2, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, June 9, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, June 16, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 11:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 7 p.m.

More Storytimes for infants-age 6

  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 6 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 6 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 6 p.m.

More Storytimes for infants-12 months

  • Friday, May 26, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Friday, June 2, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Friday, June 9, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Friday, June 16, 2017, 10 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-age 6

  • Wednesday, May 31, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 7, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Friday, June 9, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Monday, June 12, 2017, 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 14, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017, 10 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-age 6

  • Thursday, June 1, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 8, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 15, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 22, 2017, 10 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-36 months

  • Thursday, June 1, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 7, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 8, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 14, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 15, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 22, 2017, 11 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-age 6

  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 11 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-age 6

  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, June 10, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 10 a.m.

More Storytimes for infants-age 6

Playtimes are filled with unstructured, developmentally appropriate activities, where kids and parents can visit, play and socialize while enjoying our special toys.