All Library branches will be closed and the Mobile Library will not make its regularly scheduled stops on Monday, May 29, for Memorial Day.

The Library Center and Schweitzer Brentwood branch libraries will not have phone service Monday, May 29-Tuesday, May 30, due to maintenance. Please call (417) 865-1340 for assistance.


The Library Board is composed of nine members who serve no more than two three-year staggered terms of office. Five members are appointed by the Mayor of Springfield to represent the city and four are appointed by the Greene County Commission to represent the county.

The function of the Library Board is to set policy, approve the annual budget and hire the Director. Board committees are appointed by the Board President.

The Board holds regularly scheduled monthly meetings on the third Tuesday of each month at 4 p.m. at a branch library. The committees, Finance & Personnel, Buildings & Grounds and Programs, Services & Technology, meet as needed throughout the year.

Library Board of Trustees Members 2016-2017

Andrea McKinney
1st term ending 2019

Michele Risdal-Barnes
Vice President
1st term ending 2017

Bill Garvin
1st term ending 2018

Matthew Simpson
1st term ending 2017

Steven Ehase
1st term ending 2019

Derek Fraley
1st term ending 2018

James Jeffries
2nd term ending 2017

Katie Moore
1st term ending 2019

Ashley Norgard
1st term ending 2018

Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule

Board meetings will begin at 4 p.m., except for the April retreat, in the community room of the following branch libraries. Click on the branch name for directions to the Library.

2016-2017 Board Meetings

  • February 28, 2017 Library Center
  • March 21, 2017 Republic Branch
  • April 18, 2017 Library Center
  • May 16, 2017 Strafford Branch
  • June 20, 2017 Library Center
  • July 18, 2017 Ash Grove Branch
  • August 15, 2017 Library Center
  • September 19, 2017 Schweitzer Brentwood
  • October 17, 2017 Library Center
  • November 21, 2017 Library Station
  • December 19, 2017 Library Center

    Free wi-fi

    Friends of the library

    The Library Foundation

    Bookmark and Share

    Sign up for the newsletter

    © Springfield-Greene County Library District