The Library Springfield-Greene County Library District Springfield, Missouri
Books & Authors

National Book Award Winners

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization. There are four winners from categories of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people’s literature. Only one winner is chosen from five finalists in each category. The winners and finalists are listed below. Click on the book titles to reserve a copy to read from the Library's collection.


Fiction -- Winner:  Redeployment by Phil Klay                    









Nonfiction -- Winner:  Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China by Evan Osnos 




Poetry -- Winner:  Faithful and Virtuous Night by Louise Glück 



Young People's Literature -- Winner: Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson 








To learn more about how the National Book Award process works, visit the National Book Foundation's website.



Find this article at